Pondering on ‘mobilization knowledge’

About month ago, when the course instructor assigned our cohort with a task to start blogging, I wondered how would my writing contribute towards learning community. After few trials of blog posts in adherence to the set criteria by the instructor, I understood the significance of the assignment.

A detailed reading on the importance of blogging in academia made me understand that the knowledge sharing in an informal tone, appeals to a wider range of audience including non-academic (Estes, 2012, pp. 980-981). Especially, when blogs have options to comment, the writer is encouraging a dialogue with the reader and thus providing a platform for knowledge creation. The blog may eventually become a buffer or perhaps a catalyst for constructing a virtual network of knowledge.

One of the parameters for the assignment was to limit the word count to a maximum of 300. It is easy to wander and get lost in thoughts, but when writing one must attempt to engage the reader actively. It ‘s hard to comprehend and present all the information you wanted to in such short limit, but I also realized that it is imperative of an amateur writer like me to learn how to be precise and focused. As a learner, I hope to keep learning and contribute to the community in an informed way. I appreciate my instructors and my classmates for being a critical resource in these initial steps of the journey.

Reference

Estes, H. (2012). “Blogging and Academic Identity.” Literature Compass, 9(12), 974–982. http://doi.org/10.1111/lic3.12017

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “Pondering on ‘mobilization knowledge’

  1. Satish,
    I too had trouble understanding why we were to write a blog and how this was to benefit me in this program…I came to the same conclusion and blogged about it too. I also find it difficult to keep my word limit within the parameters of the assignment. I have found myself editing and re-editing on numerous occasions. I am not sure if it is because I am writing a blog, so I feel like its a conversation, or is it because I am having a hard time finding a place for the words with this new “language” we are speaking? I am a lot more verbose when I am trying to get comfortable with new concepts and I think that is because I am trying to see where the words need to sit in the sentence.

  2. I really appreciate your thoughts here, Satish. As someone who writes here and there, I recognize the value of organizing thoughts and putting them into words – I really believe it is an important act during the learning process. All to often, though, I find it difficult to make time for this exercise. I’m grateful for this opportunity – I feel it’s helpful to express difficult concepts in informal ways, and I also appreciate sharing thoughts and comments with others in order to make connections among peers and interact with the material together.

  3. Satish,

    Like most, I always enjoy a well-written and engaging blog, but more often I find myself stimulated by the conversation that develops from the blog itself, so your statement, “When blogs have options to comment, the writer is encouraging a dialogue with the reader and thus providing a platform for knowledge creation,” really resonated with me. I also agree that writing within confines does pose some challenges, but I believe that’s why we all set out to take this program.

Leave a Reply

