Cultures of Inquiry

I must admit, when I first read the term “Cultures of Inquiry,”  I thought it must be a typo and that the topic, in fact, is going to talk about Inquiry of cultures. Not stopping there, I went ahead wondering how would different cultures impact learning in their domain considering, the society as a stakeholder is co-dependent on culture. I thought, wow! The course is going head-on with global education phenomenon from a sensitive angle. It only took a few minutes before I started reading it and snapped out of my dreamy eyes and boy! I was too far from the reality.

The book titled, Mindful inquiry in social research by Bentz, V.M. & Shapiro, J.J. (1998) opened a new door and led me towards whole new dimension towards research.

Being a novice technical writer, my writing was always structured in IEEE. I had hard time understanding the standards set by American Psychological Association (APA) for academic writing. But I think it is learnable :D. However what made me grounded is not this new language I am learning, but the fact that I called myself a researcher all these years without even knowing basic theories and traditions of research.

The only true wisdom is in knowing that you know nothing

I believe that the quote was by Socrates and I always reread it in my head everytime I encounter a new thing. I picked my dumb self up into accepting and learning the newness.So here is to research and my baby steps to understand it.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “Cultures of Inquiry

  1. Always baby steps Satish! We are all researchers in some form or another. Even our simple searches on the Internet make us researchers – small r. In order to become a researcher – big R, I think we will all need to practice, practice, read, read, practice, practice, read some more. I think you will find that, even though you don’t know the cultures of inquiry just yet, the will reveal themselves to you in time. Having the experience you do allows you some understanding into the ‘big R’ field that many of us don’t have. IEE or APA or whatever format we are asked to write in is just a lens with which we present our material, the researcher in you already knows how to find the data.
    Happy researching!
    Patricia

  2. The name says it all, doesn’t it Satish? “Cultures” of inquiry. And I think you were a lot closer than you think to that from the beginning with your statement on how different cultures would impact learning in their domain. Culture is everything, isn’t it? We create culture whenever and wherever we gather as a group to do something. In “cultures of inquiry,” that “something” happens to be research. In the MALAT program, that culture is what we created as a group. Now, when we meet the online group, we will create yet another “culture.” I didn’t think of these ideas until I read your blog. So your initial confusion has helped me to see how culture is more than country-specific, language-specific, religion-specific, or family-specific. And as I reflect on the different groups of friends and individuals that I associate with, I can see how I exist within many different cultures – work, family, this group of friends, that group of friends, religious circle, school culture, etc.

  3. Wow! Great post Satish! I totally agree with you! As difficult as these first concepts have been to wrap my head around, being on the other side and having a good grasp of them now, I am so thankful! I understand this research world much more than I did coming in! It is fun expanding this side of my learning since I normally don’t tap into it but I sure am ready to dive straight in now!!!

Leave a Reply

